Plaster Casting Activity

 

This weeks activity was to create a casting of our hand using a plaster. I bought sand, plaster, and bucket from a hardware store. Then, I mixed the plaster and water with a 2:1 ratio in the bucket. I placed sand in a separate bucket and stuck my hand to make the mold. I pour the mixed plaster into the mold. Lastly, I let it dry for about 30 minutes then I dug out the casting. The step by step procedure is shown in the top pictures. I found this activity to be quite interesting, though I had to use trial and error to create the casting. I found this experience to be useful, I was able to learn by the many mistakes I have had. Overall, the activity was fun and useful.

Leave a Reply

